Welcome to my Blog!

Hey all…

Masey came up with the idea that I should write a blog about words. I love the English language and I love discovering new words. What I hope to do is choose words that are not so commonly used, write about the definition and the etymology, and then show how I think the word is most effectively used.

I find very often that people will throw big words into their vocabulary and a) not use them properly or b) use them only to sound impressive at inappropriate times. You can’t throw ‘big’ words into your vocabulary if most of the words you use have less than five letters. You just end up sounding like a tool.

Anyhow, I am passionate about this, and I hope you will all enjoy reading it. More to come soon!!

Published in: on August 9, 2006 at 11:46 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ladycole.wordpress.com/2006/08/09/welcome-to-my-blog/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. *Claps* Good to see you are going to give this idea of ours a red hot crack Cole! I for one will no doubt expand my mind and my vocabulary through your posts…

    I’ll do you a deal. If one of your posts falls on the same day as one of mine when I write it, I will do EVERYTHING I can to make sure I use your word for the day! DEAL?

  2. Deal. I’m still choosing my first word, but I’ll let you know before I post, so you have head-start in getting it into your blog.

    cheers, mase!

  3. OK… almost two months since we launched this little venture…

    Feed me Cole… feed my knowledge. My vernacular is in need of nourishment!

  4. now we are fussing and now we are fightin. Ruud Orlagh.

  5. but your much on my mind, you often get declin. Gautam Asaf.


Leave a Reply

